The Paleo Diet can be more restrictive diet than regular gluten and dairy free diets.. The Paleo Diet is gluten, dairy and preservative free. Additionally, it is a weight loss and weight maintenance diet. Referred to as the Caveman Diet. Some may suggest that if Cavemen did eat it we in modern society should eat it. On the other hand, some of the foods restricted on the Paleo Diet have nutritional benefits. If you are not lactose intolerant milk is a good source of calcuim and protein. Beans have several nutrient values. The Paleo Diet’s emphasis on lean meat ,fish, poultry, fresh fruits and vegetables, elimination of sugar, low carbs and preservative free diet has short and long term health benefits. Based on your personal preferences or health requirements a strict or modified Paleo Diet maybe best suited for your health, weight-loss goals and life style.
The Paleo Diet is Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Preservative Free. Referred to as the Caveman Diet or Stone Age Diet. The Paleolithic period was 10,000 years ago. The Paleolithic period is pre-agriculture and before man discovered fire. Beans, potatoes and many grains are inedible raw. They contain toxins if no cooked. The caveman only ate non-toxin edible foods. In the Paleolithic period dairy products were not consume because animals had not been domesticated. Therefore, milk was not consumed. The Paleo Diet includes: lean meat, fish, poultry, fresh vegetables, fresh fruit, nuts and seeds. Excluded from the diet are grains, potatoes, legumes, dairy produces, salt, refined sugar and processed foods.
Paleo Diet Allowed Foods:
-Fresh and dried herbs
-Spices and natural enhancers (garlic, onions, peppers, cloves and etc.)
Paleo Diet-Foods Not Allowed:
Foods to avoid:
-All processed food
-Margarine and butter
-All processed foods made with rice.
-Soybeans and all soybean products including tofu.
Gluten Foods (Not Allowed in Paleo Diet or Gluten Free Diet)
Cakes and Pies
Oaks (maybe cross contaminated)
Many everyday products contain Gluten
Food additives, malt flavoring, modified food starch and etc.
Many vitamins and medications use gluten as a binding agent
Lipstick and lip balms
Postage stamps (only used the self adhesive)
Gluten Free Safe Foods:
Fresh poultry, fish and meats (cannot be marinated, breaded or basted coated)
Most dairy products (not allowed in Paleo Diet)
Fresh fruit and vegetables
Rice (not allowed in Paleo Diet)
Potatoes (not allowed in Paleo Diet)
Gluten free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato not allowed in Paleo Diet)
Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits